Term vs Permanent Life Insurance Quotes (2026)

Updated October 17, 2026
Quick answer: Term life insurance quotes and permanent life insurance quotes are prices for different contracts. Hold one applicant still, then read each publisher’s figure on its own. The examples below are for a man, age 40, buying $500,000. MoneyGeek and NerdWallet do not state the same premium. Each number is labeled as of Oct 17, 2026, with that publisher’s own date.
One applicant, three quote types
The sample applicant is a man, age 40, asking for a $500,000 death benefit. MoneyGeek (updated October 1, 2026) averages quotes for nonsmokers in average health. NerdWallet (updated October 1, 2026) averages the lowest three LifeStein rates for nonsmokers in preferred, good health, and prints them per year. MoneyGeek’s $500,000 page (updated September 22, 2026) is a third labeling of MoneyGeek’s own quotes, not a second publisher.
Guaranteed universal life is the third contract. None of these charts price guaranteed universal life. MoneyGeek’s universal life figure is flexible universal life with cash value. Indexed universal life is in the feature table only. No indexed universal life cost is stated.
| Quote type | 20-year level term | Guaranteed universal life | Whole life | Indexed universal life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How long the death benefit is scheduled to last | A fixed period, often 10 to 30 years | The guarantee period in the contract, which can be lifetime | Lifetime, if you pay the premium as agreed | A universal life design; the death benefit is not a 10- to 30-year term |
| Cash value | None | Little or none | Yes | Cash value crediting can follow an index |
| Premium pattern | Level during the term you bought | Fixed for the guarantee you chose | Set at issue and stays level if you pay it as agreed | Can be adjusted within the policy’s limits |
Example quotes, labeled by source
These are the publishers’ averages for this applicant, not one blended premium. Checked as of Oct 17, 2026.
| Source | Profile | 20-year term | Universal life | Whole life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MoneyGeek $500,000 page, updated September 22, 2026 | Nonsmoking man, age 40, average health, $500,000 | $59/month | $362/month on the universal-life table. The opening paragraph on that page says $180/month for a man, age 40. | $537/month on the whole-life table. The opening paragraph on that page says $337/month for a man, age 40. |
| MoneyGeek rates page, updated October 1, 2026 | Nonsmoking man, age 40, average health, $500,000 | $59/month | $362/month. Flexible universal life with cash value, not guaranteed universal life. | $574/month |
| NerdWallet, updated October 1, 2026 | Nonsmoking man, age 40, preferred, good health, $500,000. Lowest three rates averaged. | $321/year | Not stated | $3,180/year |
| Guardian, citing LifeStein, data valid February 13, 2026 | Man, age 40, $500,000. Lowest three rates averaged. | $28/month | Not stated | $460/month |
MoneyGeek’s $362 universal life cell appears on both MoneyGeek pages. It is still one publisher, and it is not a guaranteed universal life premium. No second source states a guaranteed universal life dollar for this applicant.
As of April 9, 2026, Guardian describes term as coverage for a set period, typically 10 to 30 years, with no cash value, and level premiums during that term. As of the footnotes accessed April 28, 2026, Aflac describes the same shape: a fixed period of 10 to 30 years, and level-term premiums that do not change during that period.
As of April 9, 2026, Guardian describes whole life as coverage for life if premiums are paid, with premiums that stay the same and a cash value. As of October 1, 2026, MoneyGeek describes the same two traits: the premium is fixed after the policy is issued, and the policy builds cash value. For this applicant, every labeled row above prices whole life higher than 20-year term. The gap is not one ratio, so no multiple is printed.
As of June 16, 2025, Forbes Advisor describes guaranteed universal life as a fixed death benefit and a fixed premium, with little cash value, and as the least expensive of the universal life designs. You choose the maturity age, and a longer guarantee costs more. As of the footnotes accessed April 28, 2026, Aflac describes guaranteed universal life the same way: fixed premiums, typically little cash value, and a lower premium than traditional permanent life insurance.
Indexed universal life, as of June 16, 2025 (Forbes Advisor) and as of the Aflac footnotes accessed April 28, 2026, is a universal life policy whose cash value crediting can follow a market index, such as the S&P 500. Forbes Advisor also says the premium and the death benefit can be adjusted within limits. No indexed universal life premium, cap, or illustrated rate is printed here.
One directional fact the two October 1, 2026 charts do share: at the same age, the female rate is lower than the male rate. No percentage is printed.
For the product difference, apart from how the quotes are built, see whole life vs term life insurance.
When each quote type makes sense
Term fits a need that ends on a date you can name. Guardian (as of April 9, 2026) and Aflac (footnotes accessed April 28, 2026) both describe term as coverage for a set number of years, not for life. A 20-year quote is the right request when the mortgage, the income-replacement window, or the years dependents rely on you lines up with that term. When the term ends, that contract ends.
Guaranteed universal life fits a death benefit you want after that date, without cash value as the reason you are buying. Forbes Advisor (as of June 16, 2025) and Aflac (footnotes accessed April 28, 2026) both describe a fixed premium, little cash value, and a premium below other permanent or universal designs. Ask for the guarantee age in the quote. A longer guarantee is a different price. Do not use the $362 universal life cell as that quote.
Whole life fits a death benefit for life plus cash value. Guardian (as of April 9, 2026) and MoneyGeek (as of October 1, 2026) both describe a premium that stays level after issue and a policy that builds cash value, if you pay as agreed. Use this quote when cash value is part of the job. If it is not, you are comparing a savings contract to a pure death benefit.
Indexed universal life is the column for index-linked crediting. Forbes Advisor (as of June 16, 2025) and Aflac (footnotes accessed April 28, 2026) both tie the cash value credit to an index. Treat an illustration rate as a projection, not as the premium. This page states no indexed universal life cost.
How to choose between quote types
Use the same person on every quote. Age, sex, tobacco, health class, and death benefit stay fixed. The October 1, 2026 charts diverge partly because one uses average health and a broad average, and the other uses preferred health and the lowest three rates. If two quotes do not name the same health class, they are not the same applicant.
Name the contract in the request:
- “20-year level term, $500,000, this health class.”
- “Guaranteed universal life to the age you picked, $500,000, the premium that keeps that guarantee.”
- “Whole life, $500,000, this health class, premium paid for life.”
A quote that does not name the type is not ready to compare. A term illustration will not show cash value. A whole life illustration is not a guaranteed universal life premium. An indexed universal life illustration is not a whole life dividend.
Read the guarantee, then the premium:
- Term: the death benefit runs to a date, and the premium is level only for that term (Guardian, as of April 9, 2026; Aflac, footnotes accessed April 28, 2026).
- Guaranteed universal life: the fixed premium is the one that keeps the guarantee you chose (Forbes Advisor, as of June 16, 2025; Aflac, footnotes accessed April 28, 2026).
- Whole life: the premium is set at issue and stays level if you pay it as agreed (Guardian, as of April 9, 2026; MoneyGeek, as of October 1, 2026).
The form on this page starts a whole life illustration. It does not return a term quote or a guaranteed universal life quote.
Where to get the quote
After you know which contract you are pricing, get the illustration from whole life insurance quotes online. That page is the place to request the whole life quote. If the quote you need is term or guaranteed universal life, ask for that policy type by name. A whole life illustration will not stand in for either one.
What is a term life insurance quote?
A term life insurance quote is the premium for a death benefit that lasts a set number of years, often 10 to 30, with no cash value. Guardian (as of April 9, 2026) and Aflac (footnotes accessed April 28, 2026) both describe that contract. The premium is level during the term you buy. It is not a price for coverage after the term ends.
What is a permanent life insurance quote?
A permanent life insurance quote is the premium for a death benefit that is not limited to a 10- to 30-year term. It is not one product. Guaranteed universal life and whole life are both permanent, and they are different quotes: little or no cash value and a fixed guarantee premium on one side (Forbes Advisor, as of June 16, 2025; Aflac, footnotes accessed April 28, 2026), and level lifetime premiums plus cash value on the other (Guardian, as of April 9, 2026; MoneyGeek, as of October 1, 2026).
How is guaranteed universal life different from whole life on a quote?
Guaranteed universal life is priced for the death benefit and the guarantee period. Forbes Advisor (as of June 16, 2025) and Aflac (footnotes accessed April 28, 2026) both say the cash value is little or none and the premium is fixed. Whole life, per Guardian (as of April 9, 2026) and MoneyGeek (as of October 1, 2026), includes cash value and a premium that stays level after issue. The labeled table above keeps those contracts in different columns.
Which labeled figure is the guaranteed universal life premium?
None of them. MoneyGeek’s $362/month cell, on both the rates page (updated October 1, 2026) and the $500,000 page’s universal-life table (updated September 22, 2026), is flexible universal life for a nonsmoking man, age 40, average health, $500,000. NerdWallet and Guardian do not state a universal life premium for this applicant. Ask for guaranteed universal life by name, and for the age the guarantee runs to.
Where do I go after I pick a quote type?
Go to whole life insurance quotes online and request the policy type by name. Use that page for the whole life illustration. For term or guaranteed universal life, say so in the request. The comparison on this page stops at how to read the three quotes. It does not issue them.
Sources checked October 17, 2026
- MoneyGeek, Average Life Insurance Cost in 2026, updated October 1, 2026. Term $59/month, universal life $362/month, whole life $574/month for a nonsmoking man, age 40, average health, $500,000. The universal life figure is not guaranteed universal life.
- MoneyGeek, How Much Is a $500,000 Life Insurance Policy?, updated September 22, 2026. Term table $59/month, universal-life table $362/month, whole-life table $537/month for a nonsmoking man, age 40, average health, $500,000. The opening summary on that page also says $180/month universal life and $337/month whole life for a man, age 40.
- NerdWallet, Average Life Insurance Rates for 2026, updated October 1, 2026. LifeStein rates, lowest three averaged, data valid as of October 1, 2026: $321/year term and $3,180/year whole life for a nonsmoking man, age 40, preferred, good health, $500,000.
- Guardian, Term Life vs. Whole Life Insurance, last updated April 9, 2026. Rate table source: LifeStein, data valid February 13, 2026. $28/month term and $460/month whole life for a man, age 40, $500,000.
- Forbes Advisor, Universal Life Insurance, audited June 16, 2025. Product description only. No premium from this page is used.
- Aflac, Term vs. Universal Life Insurance, footnotes accessed April 28, 2026. Product description only. No premium from this page is used.


